Institute of Plant Breeding celebrates 40th anniversary

  • Written by  Regina Mae C. Ongkiko
  • Published in News
Institute of Plant Breeding celebrates 40th anniversary © OVCRE/Lawrence N. Garcia

The Institute of Plant Breeding, Crop Science Cluster, College of Agriculture, University of the Philippines Los Baños celebrated its 40th Anniversary last 05 June 2015.

The program began with the opening remarks from Dr. Calixto M. Protacio, the current Director of CSC-IPB. Dr. Enrico P. Supangco, the new Dean of the College of Agriculture gave an inspirational message. The Deputy Director of IPB, Mr. Primitivo Jose A. Santos led the giving of service awards. Short messages from notable Academicians followed: Dr. Emil Q. Javier, Dr. Ricardo M. Lantican (National Scientist), and Dr. Eufemio T. Rasco, Jr. The IPB Junior Researchers Organization also managed the “Your Face Sounds Familiar” contest.

On 10 June 2015, a special program was held as part of the Ruby Anniversary celebration. Vice Chancellor for Research and Extension Prof. Rex Demafelis delivered a message and Hon. Gregory L. Domingo, the Secretary of the Department of Trade and Industry discussed “Agribusiness and Inclusive Growth.” This was followed by the Signing of the Memorandum of Agreement between Del Monte Philippines, Inc. (DMPI) and UPLB Foundation, Inc. (UPLB FI). Mr. Luis F. Alejandro, the General Manager and Chief Operating Officer of Del Monte Pacific Ltd. Group, also delivered some remarks.

A forum on “Strengthening Partnerships Among Agribusiness, Academe, and the Science Community” followed. This was organized by the Department of Agribusiness Management and Entrepreneurship, College of Economics and Management (DAME-CEM). Panelists included Mr. Luis F. Alejandro, Mr. Glenn N. Baticados, an Assistant Professor from CEM, and Mr. Ramon M. Lopez, the Executive Director of Go Negosyo and Head of Corporate Planning of RFM Foods Corporation.

Founder and former IPB Director Dr. Emil Q. Javier was the Master of Ceremony. Other notable guests were Academicians Ruben L. Villareal, Ricardo M. Lantican (National Scientist), and Gelia T. Castillo (National Scientist).

Aside from Dr. Javier, Dr. Villareal, Dr. Lantican, and Dr. Rasco were also former directors of IPB.